About the Libertarian Party:

  • We are America’s third-largest political party.
  • Many Libertarians serve in elected office and directly implement Libertarian policies.
  • We have affiliates in all 50 states.
  • We run hundreds of candidates for all political offices from President down to U.S. Congress and city councils.

Libertarian Party (LP) Organization

county_logo_galveston - sorta finalGalveston County

There are currently 92 Voter Precincts within Galveston County. The Galveston County Libertarian Party (GCLP) is responsible for Libertarian Party conventions and organization within the county. The GCLP also helps get Libertarians elected and maintains a year-round 800 number, mailing address, and internet and social media presences.  The County Executive Committee and Precinct Chairs are elected in even numbered years and serve in a volunteer, unpaid capacity. Precinct Chairs may serve as Election Clerks and should help engage voters in their precincts. Block captains can be recruited to help get-out-the-vote (GOTV), to organize block walks or help at phone banks.

lptexas_logo_solidState of Texas

The Libertarian Party of Texas (LP Texas) supports and engages all 254 counties across the state of Texas. They have an office and full volunteer staff in Austin.  John Wilford serves as Chair of the LP Texas and the Chair is elected in even numbered years at the LP Texas Convention.  Voters are represented on the LP Texas by a representative on the State Libertarian Executive Committee (SLEC). Members of the SLEC come from each Senate District (SD) in the state and they are elected to two year terms at the LP Texas Convention.  SD-11 is currently represented by James Crossman and Scott Davis, who live in Galveston and Brazoria Counties, respectively.  SD-4 is currently represented by David Allen Monroe and Scott Ford.

lp_logo_bird_pms_smUS - National

The Libertarian Party (LP) and Libertarian National Committee (LNC) is made up of representatives from all 50 states. Each State has a Committeeman and a Committeewoman to represent the state on the RNC.  In Texas we elect the State Committeeman and Committeewoman in Presidential election years at the State Convention.  The LP Chair also serves as a member of the RNC.



(Visited 223 times, 1 visits today)